Founder Bootstrapped Using $3.5m From Founderpath, Exited for Massive Amount Last Week

Joel Ohman, founder and CEO of the fitness software company Exercise.com, funded its growth with about $3.5 million of Founderpath financing, a term loan plus revenue financing drawn 19 times from September 2020, instead of selling equity. Daxko, a fitness software company backed by GI Partners and Genstar Capital, acquired Exercise.com in October 2025 for an undisclosed price, and Ohman says the sale gave him the most personal liquidity he has achieved from a transaction.
Key Takeaways
- Daxko announced its acquisition of Exercise.com on October 23, 2025, and Athletech News reported that the financial terms were not disclosed.
- Founderpath’s homepage lists a $3.5M term loan to Exercise.com (October 2026); Ohman put the total at around $3M to $3.5M across a term loan and revenue financing.
- Founderpath’s draw records, read on an October 2025 call, show 19 draws, the first a wire of $15,470 on September 25, 2020.
- Ohman said Exercise.com was under or around $1M in ARR in 2020 and has been Rule of 40 positive almost every year since.
- Ohman called the Daxko sale his fifth exit, and his own website lists five exits to private equity, a public company and private buyers.
Exercise.com and Founderpath at a Glance
The facts below come from Daxko’s announcement, the trade press that covered it, Founderpath’s own records and Ohman’s words. Where a fact rests on one source, the row names it.
| Detail | What the sources say | Sources |
|---|---|---|
| What Exercise.com does | Software for gyms, studios, coaches and personal trainers to run their business: booking, workouts, payments and branded apps | Daxko, Athletech News (October 2025), Exercise.com |
| Founder and CEO | Joel Ohman | Daxko (October 2025), Exercise.com about page |
| Founderpath funding | About $3.5M: a term loan plus revenue financing, no equity | Founderpath homepage (October 2026), Ohman on video (October 2025) |
| Draws | 19, the first $15,470 on September 25, 2020 | Founderpath’s draw records, read by Nathan Latka on video |
| Revenue at the first draw | Sub $1M or about $1M ARR (Ohman); $50K to $60K a month (Latka) | Video (October 2025) |
| Buyer | Daxko, backed by GI Partners since 2016 and by Genstar Capital since a 2021 recapitalization | Genstar Capital (2021), GI Partners |
| Announced | October 23, 2025 | Daxko, Athletech News |
| Price | Not disclosed | Athletech News (October 2025) |
| Seller’s advisor | Vista Point Advisors, exclusive financial advisor to Exercise.com | Daxko, Vista Point Advisors (October 2025) |
Who Is Joel Ohman?
Joel Ohman is the founder of Exercise.com, which he led as CEO through its sale to Daxko, as Daxko’s announcement and his own website state. On his about page he describes himself as a serial tech entrepreneur, investor and author, with five exits to private equity, a publicly traded company and private acquirers, and time on the buy side of more than 30 M&A transactions. He was also CEO of Quote.com, and his site says he now runs his family office, Kingswood Ventures, and serves as Quote.com’s executive chairman (as of October 2026).
On the call with Founderpath after the sale, he counted the Daxko deal as his fifth exit: he said he had sold companies to a publicly traded buyer, to a private equity sponsor (after which he ran the business as part of a roll-up) and to a private buyer, and this time to a strategic buyer backed by private equity.
How Founderpath Funded Exercise.com
Founderpath’s homepage lists Exercise.com among its recent deployments as a $3,500,000 term loan (October 2026). Ohman describes the money as more than one product: a term loan plus revenue financing, which he calls RBF loans, with a total of around $3 million to $3.5 million. So this page gives the amount as about $3.5 million and the structure as both.
On the call, Nathan Latka read from Founderpath’s draw history: 19 draws in total, starting with a wire of $15,470 on September 25, 2020. Asked what his revenue was then, Ohman said probably sub $1 million in ARR or right around $1 million; Latka put it at $50,000 to $60,000 a month. The size of each later draw and the rates Exercise.com paid have not been published.

Ohman calls the money an accelerant, used mainly to spend more on go to market. He told Latka the requests came as the company grew: more spend on ads, or a hire. One he described was a B2B SaaS CMO who joined a few years before the sale, in Ohman’s words the first marketer at SendGrid and a marketing leader at Bessemer and Vista portfolio companies, a hire he remembers wondering whether the company could afford.
We’ve been rule of forty positive almost every single year since then. You know, without some of the accelerant from Founderpath, you know, we definitely would not have had some of the, you know, spend on go to market.
Joel Ohman, founder and CEO of Exercise.com, on a recorded call with Founderpath CEO Nathan Latka after the sale was announced, October 2025. Watch the video at 1:16
What a Term Loan and Revenue Financing Are
Neither sells shares. A term loan is debt; revenue financing is an advance against future subscription revenue, which Founderpath structures as a receivable purchase agreement. Its term loans page describes a fixed lump sum repaid over up to four years, with interest from 15% and up to 24 months of interest-only payments, and no warrants, origination fees or prepayment penalty. Its revenue financing page describes cash advanced against recurring revenue at a discount rate from 7%, repaid in a fixed monthly amount, and its products page gives terms of 12 to 36 months (all as of October 2026). Founderpath takes no equity, board seats or warrants on either. Our guide to non-dilutive funding compares these with other ways to fund growth without selling equity.
The Sale to Daxko
On October 23, 2025, Daxko announced that it had acquired Exercise.com, which it called a fitness management platform trusted by thousands of studios, coaches and personal trainers. Daxko, based in Birmingham, Alabama, sells software and integrated payments to fitness and wellness businesses, and said Exercise.com would keep its platform and team. Athletech News reported that the financial terms were not disclosed, and no source we found gives a price. Vista Point Advisors was Exercise.com’s exclusive financial advisor, according to Daxko and Vista Point itself.
Daxko is a strategic buyer backed by private equity: Genstar Capital and existing investor GI Partners recapitalized it in October 2021. Ohman described the process this way:
So we transacted to a PE backed strategic. We ran a full process. We had something like nine IOIs, three LOIs, found an amazing partner that understands our market and the business and great fit with the team.
Joel Ohman, founder and CEO of Exercise.com, on a recorded call with Founderpath CEO Nathan Latka after the sale was announced, October 2025. Watch the video at 1:28
An IOI is an indication of interest, a buyer’s first non-binding offer, and an LOI is a letter of intent, the more detailed offer that sets terms for exclusive negotiation. Three letters of intent meant more than one buyer made a detailed offer.
Why Keeping Equity Mattered at the Exit
Ohman would not give numbers, but he was clear about the result:
Frankly, like, without getting too much into numbers, this is the most personal liquidity I’ve been able to achieve from a transaction, and that’s in huge part to Founderpath.
Joel Ohman, founder and CEO of Exercise.com, on a recorded call with Founderpath CEO Nathan Latka after the sale was announced, October 2025. Watch the video at 0:00
He tied it to staying bootstrapped for so long. The mechanism is simple: a founder who sells part of the company to fund growth owns a smaller share of the sale price, while a founder who borrows or takes revenue financing repays it and its cost but keeps the shares. As an illustration, not Exercise.com’s numbers, a founder who owns all of a company and sells 20% to raise growth money keeps 80% of any later sale, before other terms such as liquidation preferences.

Neither a loan nor revenue financing is free, and both are repaid from the business’s cash, so they suit a company with steady recurring revenue. Our guide to bootstrapping a startup covers how founders get to that point, and the ContactMonkey case study shows another Founderpath customer, one that used Founderpath revenue financing and separately raised a Series A.
What Founders Can Take From Exercise.com
- Take outside capital on a business that already works. Ohman’s condition was a sound SaaS business with metrics and a plan you are confident in; he said the capital will not find product market fit or run the business for you.
- Use it for spend that pays back. He drew money for go to market: ads and senior hires he expected to be high ROI.
- Draw as you grow. Nineteen draws from September 2020 meant capital arrived in steps as the company grew, not in one large raise.
- Keep your options for the exit. Ohman ran a full sale process with several offers, and says the optionality to even consider this path was because of Founderpath.
I’m not trying to convince anyone that one is better or right for everyone, but I think in this particular transaction, it worked out fantastically well. And I think … the optionality to even be able to consider this as an option was because of Founderpath, honestly.
Joel Ohman, founder and CEO of Exercise.com, on a recorded call with Founderpath CEO Nathan Latka after the sale was announced, October 2025. Watch the video at 3:52
Sources and Method
We rechecked every fact on this page on October 24, 2026. Facts about the acquisition come from Daxko’s announcement and Athletech News; Daxko’s owners from Genstar Capital and GI Partners. Ohman’s background is attributed to his own website and his words on the call. Founderpath’s amount comes from its homepage and Ohman, the draw count and first wire from Founderpath’s records as read on the call, and the early revenue from what Ohman and Latka said on it. The quotes are from the call’s captions, with speakers identified from the conversation; stutters were removed, one filler is shown as an ellipsis and caption mis-hearings of names were fixed. Founderpath’s terms come from its live product pages.
Two points needed care. Founderpath’s homepage labels the deal a term loan, while Ohman says it combined a term loan and revenue financing, so this page gives both. Bootstrapped is Ohman’s word. Some company databases list two seed rounds, in 2010 and 2012, under the Exercise.com name. The SEC filings behind them (2010 and 2012) are from Exercise.com, Inc. of Mountain View, California, and name other officers, not Ohman. Ohman’s company started as WeightTraining.com: Exercise.com’s own about page in 2016 said its team had worked on WeightTraining.com since 2010 and moved to the Exercise.com name in 2015. So we do not attribute those rounds to his company.
An earlier version of this page said the company sold for a massive amount, that its founder walked away with more personal liquidity than all his previous exits combined, that he kept the majority of his equity and that Founderpath delivered capital within days. No source supports those claims, and its quotes had been reworded. All of that has been removed or replaced with Ohman’s exact words.
- Daxko, Daxko Broadens Boutique Fitness Market Offering with Acquisition of Exercise.com, October 23, 2025
- Athletech News, Daxko Acquires Exercise.com, Expanding Its Boutique Fitness Tech, October 2025
- Genstar Capital, Daxko Receives Investment to Accelerate Innovation and Growth, October 19, 2021
- GI Partners, Daxko portfolio page, read October 24, 2026
- Joel Ohman, Joel Ohman, About and Exercise.com, About, read October 24, 2026
- Exercise.com, About, archived October 6, 2016, and SEC Form D filings by Exercise.com, Inc. (2010, 2012)
- Vista Point Advisors, Exercise.com Announces Acquisition by Daxko, October 2025
- Founderpath, call with Joel Ohman, October 2025 (video published November 1, 2025)
- Founderpath homepage, term loans, revenue financing and products pages, read October 24, 2026
See Your Founderpath Offer
Connect your billing, banking and accounting data, and Founderpath shows you what you qualify for, with every figure disclosed up front. There’s no pitch deck, no equity and no board seats.
Check what you qualify for. It takes less than 5 minutes.
Exercise.com and Founderpath FAQ
Who is Joel Ohman?
Joel Ohman is the founder of Exercise.com, the fitness business software company he led as CEO until Daxko acquired it in October 2025. He describes himself as a serial tech entrepreneur, investor and author with five exits, and was also CEO of Quote.com.
Who acquired Exercise.com?
Daxko, a software and integrated payments company for fitness and wellness businesses, announced its acquisition of Exercise.com on October 23, 2025. Daxko is backed by the private equity firms GI Partners and Genstar Capital.
Was the price of the Exercise.com sale disclosed?
No. Athletech News reported that the financial terms were not disclosed, and Daxko’s announcement gives no price. Ohman said only that it was the most personal liquidity he has achieved from a transaction.
How much funding did Founderpath provide Exercise.com?
About $3.5 million. Founderpath’s homepage lists a $3.5M term loan, and Ohman said the total was around $3 million to $3.5 million across a term loan and revenue financing, drawn 19 times starting in September 2020.
Was Exercise.com bootstrapped?
Ohman describes it as bootstrapped and says Founderpath financing let him stay bootstrapped for a long time. Founderpath takes no equity, and we found no equity round raised by his company. His company began as WeightTraining.com and took the Exercise.com name in 2015; the 2010 and 2012 SEC filings under that name came from an earlier Mountain View company with other officers.
Does Founderpath take equity?
No. Founderpath’s term loans and revenue financing are non-dilutive, with no equity, board seats or warrants. Term loans start at 15% interest with up to 24 months interest-only, and revenue financing starts at a 7% discount rate, as of October 2026.
Recent Articles

CARR vs ARR: What Contracted ARR Is and How It Differs
CARR is your ARR plus signed contracts that aren't live yet, minus churn notices. How to calculate CARR, how it differs from ARR, bookings and RPO, and how to report it honestly.

What Is a UCC Filing? What It Means When a Lender Files One
A UCC filing is a public notice that a lender has a lien on some or all of your business assets. What a UCC-1 contains, how long it lasts, how it affects new financing and how to remove one.

What Are Debt Warrants? How Venture Debt Warrants Work
Debt warrants give a lender the right to buy shares at a fixed price alongside a loan. How warrant coverage works, what it costs in dilution, and which lenders take warrants.